Do you agree or disagree with the following statement: the advice from the grandparents is of no use to their grandchildren because the world has changed a lot over the past 50 years.

Grandparents usually pass on words of wisdom to the younger generation. But it has been argued that people should no longer turn to the elderly for advice because the world is no longer the way it was fifty years ago. I think this claim is unconvincing and questionable for the following reasons.

First off, the world has not changed that much in the last five decades. I’m not saying everything is exactly the same as before, but the fundamentals have remained unchanged. People still work for material abundance and come to family and friends for emotional support. For example, fifty years ago, immigrants travelled across oceans to the United State for a better life. They were told to stay positive in times of hardship and follow through despite the odds, and they did. That’s the American Dream coming true. How about now? The pursuit of stability and security have never ceased and will continue to last for the years to come. Important values, like honesty, diligence and persistence, that have served the previous generations well, would undoubtedly bring out the best in us and illuminate the way. Let’s take the scope to a macro level. Throughout the years, there have always been wars breaking out in some parts of the world where old governments were toppled and new rulers came to power; epidemic diseases have still been plaguing lives, but people are always trying out new ways to cure them and save the day; the discrimination against race, gender or sexual orientation is still under spotlight, but people never stop fighting for justice and equality. So you can see all the major problems we have faced haven’t change that much; only the elderly who have seen it all can hit the mark.

Some may argue that technology is a game changer and grandparents who can hardly keep up with the times won’t be of any use to a tech-savvy kid. That being said, let’s not forget grandparents have more hands-on experience outside of electronic gadgets. Take myself for instance, while my grandpa is still writing letters, I see it as a nostalgic way of correspondence; I can take care of all my work E-mail just by tapping on my iPhone. It seems like I can handle it all on my own. But I could still remember my first business proposal. Even though I got a laptop, I was still at loss about how to lay out the proposal and ended up asking my grandpa for tips. As an English professor, he showed me the ropes about the writing formats and the correct way of addressing. Some might google it for answer, but that would lack a personal touch. With grandpa’s help, everything fell into place; the proposal turned out to be a success. The same goes for grandpa’s other techniques that I put into use later in life. So who cares of grandparents may not get the hang of technology? No matter how fast the world spins, their words of wisdom can always go a long way.

To sum up, I’m not asking you to follow the beaten path or dedicate to some old-fashioned lifestyle. All I’m saying is that grandparents are worth our full attention no matter how the world changes.