Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? All university students should be required to take history courses no matter what their field of study is.

The university is an academic center the main responsibility of which is to prepare students for having both a successful profession and personal life. Indeed, experiences acquired at the university make students decide their path. Various points of view which are germane to the matter being discussed brings us to the moot question as to whether students should be obliged to take the history course at the university regardless of the field of study. However, the popular sentiment to which I vehemently cling is that study history is highly beneficial for students and they can take advantages of the critical role it plays during their education. The following paragraphs will aptly substantiate my personal stance.

To commence with, students are pillars of every given society and it is incumbent upon universities to provide an opportunity for students to broaden their horizon and become familiar with a wide variety of courses. Generally phrased, history is the symbol of culture and civilization and students should be needed to become acquainted with history in order to understand what the culture or a society is. As a tangible example, a visit to the museum could provide fertile ground for students to learn about the way of living of previous ancestors, failures, achievements and so forth. In this situation, not only can students appreciate the main purpose of history course but also can gain loads of information pertaining to ancient time. To elucidate more on this issue, if students avoid studying history, hardly can they make a conspicuous progress day in day out in their personal lives and we will soon witness a lagging society.

Another equally salient point in corroborating my stance in this subject is that our history is our best teacher. If we take a minute to ponder over it, vast majorities of people are not mature or experienced enough when it comes to decision making and often make an idiotic decision. So, the history can help and patronize us not to come up with erroneous tasks and do our works precisely and punctiliously. It can be deduced from a combination of breadth of coverage and depth of detail that not only can history prevent us from an egregious mistake but also can teach us how to deal with future problems and difficulties.

However, this is the side effect of a coin. In fact, a university should encourage students to stay focus on courses that are more useful and helpful for them. For instance, students should be enticed to opt for courses, which are interested and they will certainly reach the pinnacle of their education. Indeed, concentrate on the course of history might be waste of time and money without any conclusion. However, it was a story in a nutshell; actually, there are more reasonable grounds that can lend weight to my point of view.