Do you agree or disagree with the following statement: books are not needed any more because people can read information on computers.

In today’s modern world, with its galloping progress, a great deal of gadgets have been created to increase the efficiency of learning, two of which – that is – computers and tablets, to name but a handful, facilitating the process of learning, in place of books and magazines. There is a heated controversy as to which of these two ways for which there are so many benefits, are better in general. I, personally, subscribe to the idea that using computer for gaining information is more efficient than using book for many reasons. I explicate my reasons in next paragraphs.

First of all, thanks to the state-of-the-art technologies, you can save and store lots of books and magazines in one place that is your computer, in digital formats. We all know that books are too heavy and carrying them is a nuisance, especially when we are talking about a great number of books. Whereas, a computer which is about 2.5 kilograms can have more than thousands books easily. Nowadays, in modern countries like Japan, the students are being learned how to use their computers and tablets to study and acquire knowledge, due to working with these devices is more fun and amusing for children than books, so they can learn faster than it used to be.

Second of all, the human natural resources are in danger, three of which are fresh air, underground water as well as wood and trees that play crucial roles in human being’s life. Papers are made of wood and trees; accordingly, trees have been cut in great amounts to provide us papers for a very long time. So, computers are a ways to prevent such catastrophic incidents. With today’s rapid progress of cutting trees and devastating wood there is no paper and book as well as fresh air on our planet sooner or later. The other related reason is, the procedure of making papers by trees is an expensive one, so the cost of books are extremely more expensive than digital books which can be downloaded just by one click in a few seconds.

To sum up, with all this taken into account, there is no doubt that book is an irreplaceable and priceless part of our lives, but it has its deficiencies. Books are so heavy and due to its production process the cost of each book is more than its digital version, Prompting people to buy digital books. In addition, digital books are easier to get and there is no need to go to stores or book markets to buy.