Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Boys and girls should attend separate schools. Use specific reasons and examples to support you answer.

During many decades, boys and girls attended separate schools until laws modified this system. To my opinion, legislation changed in a better way, consequently I disagree to the statement promoting separated class and I will explain my choice in the following paragraphs.

First, if boys and girls go in separated class, it encourages them to fit into stereotypes. Indeed, even if the subject is the same whether in girls’ class or boys’ class, teachers will adapt their lessons to their public due to the stereotypes they learn themselves. For example, in sport class a teacher would probably stretch the limits of a boy whereas he would accept a girl cannot do more because a boy is always encouraged to show his strength and force. Consequently, having boys and girls in the same class will alleviate the gender stereotypes and prevent this new generation to reproduce those models.

Moreover, mixing girls and boys enable them to enhance their social development as they are talking to more diverse people. Indeed, a study has highlighted the fact that boys and girls do not think with the same mechanism. Consequently, boys talking to girls and reverse make it possible to improve capacity of understanding each other. It also increases ability of adaptation to new situations while girls and boys have not the same subjects to talk about.

Finally, beyond social life, mixed class has also a benefit for a further professional life for students. In fact, if girls and boys were separated during their whole scholarship, how would they manage their entrance in professional life as they would have to work with boys or girls? This model of separated class would create a huge gap between professional and scholar life. Students would have a lack of knowledge about boys’ and girls’ interactions. Besides, they could even be afraid or lacking self-confidence facing this new situation.

To conclude, mixing boys and girls in class allows to fight against gender stereotypes, improve social interactions and reduce the part of unknown when students will begin professional life.