Do you agree or disagree with the following statement: Cars(automobiles) have greater effects on society than airplanes do.

I tend to agree that the usage of automobiles would be socially detrimental in comparison with the popularization of airplanes.

Initially, the occurrence of the endless, crawling traffic jams—the most common phenomena in urban areas—is due to an excessive number of vehicles. For example, a month ago, I had a job interview with the finest company anyone could imagine. It could have been the chance of my life. In that morning, I drove out of my house with a frenzy of excitement, speeding down the road at 70 mph. Suddenly, the massive number of cars led to a traffic jam. The snail speed movement just kept getting slower and slower until the entire fleet came to a dead halt. I had thought that traffic flow would be smooth sooner or later. But in fact, the bridge over the lake nearby collapsed and worst still, we couldn't turn around. Consequently, I ended up failing the interview and not getting any second chances. To me, losing my job opportunity was a terrible misfortune due to traffic jams. Not surprisingly, others are bound to have the same experiences as me. Apparently, the application cars exert adverse impacts socially.

Additionally, a substantial number of people get injured or even their priceless lives are divested owing to numerous traffic accidents happening every day. To illustrate, I was once an exchange student in Australia. To save some money, I lived off campus in a community a couple of kilometers away. One night whilst driving back from school, a baby kangaroo leaped into the middle road. Unable to stop, I jerked the wheel and swerved off the road and collided with a tree. I was instantly knocked out cold. Half an hour later, I woke up and realized that I had not killed the creature and not injured badly. It is worth mentioning that such dreadful accident brought me psychological shadow. Undeniably, many have experienced similar events like what I encountered, endangering the lives of animals and humans. Thus, negative social influence produced by using automobiles is worthy of attention.

Finally, pollution produced by automobiles is apparent and serious resulting in abominable environments by way of using cars. For example, 30 years ago, my grandfather once lived in Beijing with fresh air to breathe and clean water to drink. Now, it has all changed. Throughout the growth of the economy, people have bought more and more cars for the sake of convenience and as the time passes by, the air quality gets worst and worst. Beijing used to be a beautiful and livable place to live in but air pollution starts to drag the number of citizens down. My grandfather said that the pollution was so bad that most places he couldn’t see past his own fingertips when it comes to sand storm. Still worse, what made us heartbroken was that he died of lung cancer when he was 83 because of the terrible air. Many people have died of this; therefore, the government should seriously consider this. Evidently, contamination triggered by using automobiles is socially detrimental.

In conclusion, I am convinced that cars affect society negatively in comparison to the application of planes on account of the frequent occurrence of traffic jam, traffic accidents as well as pollution.