Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Children should begin learning a foreign language as soon as they start school. Use specific reasons and examples to support your position.

Languages are dramatically getting more and more attention in our world. As we are living in a small village, Earth, languages are crucial in every educational system. Some people believe that children should begin learning a foreign language as soon as they start school. I, to a great concur, agree with this idea. The rationale behind my theory will be elaborated in the next few words.

First, learning languages at earlier ages is easier and more effective. Children have an exceptional ability to learn languages more than adults or adolescents. As they say in my country learning at a small age is like writing on rocks. For example, I emigrated from Syria to Turkey five years ago with my family. It took me more than one and a half year to learn the Turkish language although me being a doctor and a lover of foreign languages. However, my six years old son was able to speak fluent Turkish just in four months. He was learning the language at school with his friends and most of them speak even better than me. If all schools started to teach at least one foreign language early, children will have the opportunity to learn more than one language.

Second, learning languages help children to develop their brains. Learning languages is not only useful for itself. Yet, it helps with expanding the imagination and elicits new ways of thinking in children. Learning a new language as early as possible will be an advantage for other perspectives. Last month, I have watched a documentary about this issue. A large study was made to compare bilingual students and normal ones. They discovered that bilingual students were more successful in their exams and getting higher grades. They even studied the brains of the students with multiple ways of imaging and discovered that learning new languages increases the number of synapses between the neurons in our brains. So, it will be a big help for our children if we started to teach them languages earlier at schools.