Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Children should only study or play and don’t have to do household chores.

Every parent has an ever growing dilemma regarding the most effective way to raise their children so they would turn into prosperous, healthy adults. One controversy in this regard concerns household chores. Many posit that taking on responsibilities around the house might have adverse effects on children, mainly on their academics and psychological well-being. I, on the contrary, believe designating certain chores for children can be very beneficial for them, both in the near present and future. I will briefly shed light on some reasons that will substantiate my viewpoint below.

A significant benefit house hold chores will have for children is that it will teach them about the value of responsibility, a mandatory asset for their future. Taking on even the simplest of chores around the house, like washing the dishes two times a week, will cause the children to feel responsible about the home being the environment they currently inhabit. This sense of responsibility will mount as they grow. In that sense, when these children turn into adult they have this incited sense of responsibility in other environments they dwell in, their work, their city, even their country. Responsible adults will rise against unpleasant situations and thrive to creat a better world.

Another important trait that will result from household chores is independence and self-reliance. It is evident that children are not going to have their parents with them at every stage throughout life. Thus, it is necessary that they should be familiarized with routine housework such as cooking and cleaning for they are to become independent and live separately from their caretakers. If a child is unfamiliar with these rudimentary tasks, he/she might not be able to look after him/herself in the future and have a sense of self-incompetence. Needless to say, this sense can be followed with detrimental outcomes, particularly in the work place. On that account, it is quite obvious that a set of house chores can have a positive impact on a child’s self-esteem and independence.

Regarding this debate, some might argue that household chores will divert the child’s attention from school work or deprive them of time to spend with friends and family. I have to oppose this statement by asserting that a balanced set of chores will teach the children about time management. They will learn to organize their time so they can attend to their work around the house, academic requirements and leisure activities. This beneficial trait will also be a great asset for them in their future, as time management is a major key to success.

To conclude, I believe many significant benefits can arise from obliging children to some basic work around the house, the greatest of them being a provoked sense of responsibility, independence and time-management. It should be mentioned that as advantageous as household chores are for children, parents should be aware not to go overboard and mount too much responsibilities on their loved ones. Therefore, in general it can be corroborated that a balanced set of responsibilities can help shape children into suites adults for the future.