Do you agree or disagree with the following statement: Female and male university students should

live in separate residence halls.

We are born into complex and demanding society, and we have to try to find our place in it. Although, opponents might claim otherwise, dividing students according gender is not reasonable, so I disagree with the statement. My views are based on social and educational grounds, and in the subsequent paragraphs, I will aupport my major reasons with examples.

First of all, modern society is more open an understanding than one humankind created in the past. Separating studenst into dormitories appointed for woman or man is not reflecting values of liberal society and, therefore, it is not acceptable. Even though similar practices are still present in more conservative countries, there is no scientifical or statistical reason to keep it that way. It promotes that gender equality is not important, and that treating people this way is acceptable. Some may believe that it is more safe for woman to live away from the opposit gender, but I think it just shows lack of trust in young males and their ability to control themselves. My personal experience demonstrates that it is beneficial to live with boys. During my studies, I lived in a dormitory without gender segregation. In the case I needed to lift something heavy or struggled to open a jar of pickels all I needed to do is to just go next door and asked for help. It is possible that if this had not happened to me, I would have not seen the advatages of mix accomodation.

From an educational standpoint, separate residence halls usually have a strickt policy about visiting rooms of one another, especially when students do not share the same gender, and that can create problems when you need to finish last minute assigment or you want to study together for upcoming exam. Additionaly, it is crucial for the young generation to learn how to live with each other no matter who they are. For instance, I studied astrophysics and I was only girl in the program. Many times, we worked together until late evening and that improved not just our grades but also made our bond more solid. If my dormitory had had rules about genders, it would have pushed me away from my classmates, and I would not have had such a strong relationship with them.

In this essay, I discussed my belief that separating students because of assign gender is not the best choice. I feel this way not just because modern society should not segragate but also because it is not practical for students.