Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

In high schools and colleges, it is more desirable for a group project to be evaluated the same regardless of the individual students’ performances.

Group assessment has been an appealing topic in modern society. Numerous educators argue that it is vital for high school and college teachers to size up teams regardless of the individual student’s performances. Personally, I approve of this argument.

In the first place, what I put in my priority is team bonding. It can not be denied that if each student is marked individually, they are certain to endeavor for themselves only. More specifically, they purely want to maximize their performance, fulfill their parts, thereby not considering how things are working in their team as a whole. Therefore, the teams prove to be a mass. Indeed, as score is based on merely personal performance, teamwork skill is highly unlikely to be considered by all the participants, which totally ruins the meaning of group projects. More importantly, teammates, as they together work on a project, are likely to interact so much with others, together defeat all barriers. Accordingly, between them, there should be sense of friendship. This lead to the dissatisfaction when some receive top scores while others purely gain bad marks. Indeed, team bonding is only maintained when everyone is marked equally.

In the second place, the criteria to mark hold no less importance. The fact is that the teamwork is designed for students to cooperate with others. Accordingly, teachers will normally mark the outcomes of the teams to evaluate all members. If it comes to marking individually, teachers are unlikely to have any means to mark each members for these are not shown in the team’s results. Instead, teachers are required to supervise all the activities of the team to best assess each member. This undoubtedly takes a lot of their time. Besides, this is extremely unnecessary, as all of the individual abilities are shown in the reports in class’s usual result. With no doubt, there is likelihood that marking each student individually is problematic for teachers.

On the other hand, some people may insist that between teammates, there are always vast distances between the best and the worst. Therefore, if teachers just mark everyone the same, the best students’ academic performance would be likely to be destroyed. However, it is not necessarily the case. It is evident that the teamwork is designed not only gearing to the outcome of that project but also considering the interaction between members in such group, thereby one must fulfill both to gain high scores. Furthermore, for the sake of getting top scores, the brilliant students are imposed to not only perform his best academic ability but also assist other weak partners. This is very helpful for them, as they are able to revise their mastered knowledge, meanwhile improve their teamwork skills. Therefore, despite of undesirable results they might get in some very first attempts, they are strongly likely to ameliorate themselves through each project. As a consequence, they are bound to improve their performances at school and further in their future steps. By and large, the opinion that group marks will ruin one’s academic performance may end in collapse.

In conclusion, these mentioned above are convincing reasons for my choice. It is highly recommended that educators worldwide should take my writing into detailed consideration to make appropriate decisions.