Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? High schools should allow students to study the courses that students want to study.

Upon the question should high schools allow students to study the courses that students want to study, different people have different opinions based on their educations and emotions. There are lots of debates among parents, students and teachers on the issue of whether or not to allow students to choose their favorite courses. From my point of view, high schools should require students to attend to all courses. In the following paragraphs, I will try to explain my position more clearly.

First and foremost, some courses are related to each other and without having enough knowledge about a particular field, students will confront problems. For example, when I was in high school, I did not like to study math and physics because I could not understand concepts and definitions of them. After graduation from high school, I decided to study biotechnology in university. Since biotechnology is a multidisciplinary major, students should have necessary information about physics, math and chemistry. So that I understood the importance of taking these different courses in high school.

In the second place, some courses are important for students’ overall health. For example, students should take physical education classes because regular exercise can improve their moods. According to latest researches which were published in well-known journals, regular exercise help students learn other courses in a more convenient way. Although some students do not like to participate in sport activities, I think requiring them to take these classes have positive influences on their life styles.

Last but not least, different kinds of art such as painting and music has great impacts on students’ spirits. Scientists believe that playing an instrument or drawing a picture are good ways to get rid of stress.

Taking all the aforementioned arguments into account, it can be concluded that it is necessary to participate in various courses in high schools because it has countless advantages for students which I outlined above.