Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is more important to keep your old friends than it is to make new friends. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The machine age in which we live and advances in technology, have widened understanding gaps between younger and older generations so much so that friends have taken families place, and altered into invaluable feature of one's social life more than ever. In such "virtual era", one can easily expand his or her friend circles, thanks to the stream of friend suggestions in social networks such as Facebook, Instagram, and Tweeter, to name but a few. Despite all the excitement, and new experiences which we can enjoy beside new peoples, I—for one—subscribe to the idea that, the old friends are irreplaceable, for a great number of reasons, three of which—that is—having better perception, being more honest, and being more reliable are the most conspicuous ones.

To begin with, old friends have good understanding of one another’s belief, habits, and rules of which they must be aware, and for which they must respect. In other words, an amount of time which friends have spent together, and a few mistakes which they have done not only molded their friendship into a firm one but also deepened their perception of each other, which is rare within new friends. In addition, although meeting new friends can bring about memorable moments and different notions, "it takes a long time to grow an old friend" who knows us deeply and criticizes us as a mirror.

Another privilege of the old friends has to do with a loyalty and trustworthy that one can enjoy. We have only a few close friends selected among our casual acquaintances. These close friends, most of which remained through time and hardships, are so reliable persons that we can make a choice based on their advice, and let them in on our secrets. In today's world, virtual social networks provide us with an opportunity to connect other people and expand our world. However, how much we can trust these "one-day-old" friends. The more superficial friendships that we will have, the less trust that we can put in friends, the more solitary we will feel.

Last but not least, old friends are more dependable inasmuch as one can undoubtedly count on them. We can lean on our "beloved friends", whose eyes shone with our happiness, whose tears shed with our hardships and defeats, and whose presence is felt even from hundred of miles away. On the contrary, the "one-day-old" friendships cannot enjoy such intimacy and depth. For instance, several years ago, I had to conduct some tests for my master thesis. The only library in my country that have the technology had some technical problems. I tweeted this issue, and just my old friends living in Germany called me, and subsequently, organized whole procedures and sent me the results and the laboratory’s confirmation. It is crystal clear that this story could not have happy ending, if my friend ignored my tweet like my virtual friends.

According to these reasons and so many others, I do believe keeping in touch with old friends are the best policy on the ground that they are familiar with one's personality, are more sincere, and are more supportive. When we honestly ask ourselves which person in life mean most to us, we often find our old friends near our family, don’t we?