Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? In the modern world, we should never be impolite to another person.

There is no denying the fact that living in modern societies has some requirements. Some people hold the idea that being polite to others is one of the undeniable ones, while others do not put that much value for it. For me, the former opinion carries more weight. I believe that we should never be impolite to others.

The foremost reason why I am supporting this idea lies in the fact that polite manner brings social comfort. Imagine a society in which everyone has respect for other members. For example, whenever a student want something from his/her teacher or parents he/she use the word “please”. Or in a work environment, a worker respect other employees and customers. In this kind of societies everyone feels graceful, and people will live in peace. Therefore, being polite will improve quality of life and happiness in society.

In another hand, being polite has benefits for the individual too. Behaving in a polite manner will makes it easier to get what we want from others. A research conducted by a group of researchers in Harvard university shows that people are more willing to help others when there are asked in a respectful way. Researchers say that this is probably because human kind like to be respected. Showing respect encourage them to help the needy one. Therefore, if we want to get what we need from others, and improve our lives we should be polite.

Overall, due to the aforementioned arguments explored in the previous statements, I am of the opinion that being polite is one of the most important requirements of living in modern societies. Since it would improve the society peacefulness, and it would be beneficial for the individual too.