Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

In the past, young people depended too much on their parents to make decisions for them; today young people are better able to make decisions about their own lives.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Every decision in people's lives is critically important to themselves. Personally, I believe that young people now are better able to make decisions about their own lives rather than depending on their parents. I feel this way for several reasons, which I will explore in the following passage.

To begin with, Internet usage is more prevalent nowadays, which means young people can obtain information from every place on earth. A few decades ago, young people could only gain information from books or their parents. Since the information in books was mostly didactic at the time, it usually corresponded to what parents may say. In contrast, now they can use this new technology to ask for others' advice and discern whether the decisions made by their parents are logical or flawed. For example, some parents tend to help their kids decide which subject to major in college due to some economical reasons. However, these pecuniary concerns could already become obsolete. Young people now are able to debunk their parents with enormous and reliable information online. If they were in the era of the last generation, they would have obeyed their parents' orders without any resources to decline it.

Furthermore, society has changed. To be more specific, more parents nowadays are willing to listen to their children's opinions. For example, my parents wanted me to take engineering majors in college, while my inclination is towards mathematics. My parents were unsympathetic to my choice because mathematics graduates in my country can only become teachers with low paid. However, they did not force me to abandon my choice. Instead, they asked me about my future plans and my reasons persuaded them.

In addition, many laws about domestic violence have been implemented in modern years, which means children are able to resist their parents now. If parents want their children to follow their command by punishing them with fists or sticks, kids can just simply call the police or related organization to protect themselves from being hurt.

In summary, since internet usage prevails, society has been different and some domestic violence laws have been applied, young people in modern days have far fewer restrictions from their parents compared to the past. Therefore, I agree with the conception that young people now are better able to make decisions about their own lives.