Do you agree or disagree with the following statement The rules that societies today expect young people to follow and obey are too strict use specific reasons and examples to support your idea

In every era, society always places some rules on the young in order to promote their development and build a stable community. For example, in the past, young couples could not get married without their parents’ permission. Data shows that this can lead to a lower divorce rate as parents with more life experience always take the two original families’ economic circumstances into account and thus can make more compatible choices. But such rules can harm the freedom of the young and cause some unhappy results. Today, societies still expect young people to follow some rules, part of which, as far as I am concerned, are too strict about obeying.

How do young people get to know and follow the rules in society? No one is born with regulations known. Instead, they learned while they are growing up—step by step, from a baby, a teenager, to an adult. One of the founding fathers of the United States, who are printed on the ten dollars, Alexander Hamilton, learned to be tough, persistent, and ambitious as he was an orphan who strove to be seen. If he were not hard-working and knew how to show his abilities, he would have died because of poverty, disease, and hunger. Not only from life experience, but he also learned from others’ sayings. Arron Bur, who used to be the vice president, told him as his schoolmate: “Talk less. Smile more.” And George Washington let him know, “Winning is easy, but governing is hard.” Those life rules helped Alexander Hamilton achieve his goal of being an irreplaceable man in history.

However, not all rules are beneficial to the young. In contrast, many rules constrain young people, especially in the workplace. In China, enormous numbers of young people have to work overtime when they enter the workplace because the rule is “The harder you work, the luckier you are”. It is common for a legal intern to be 24 hours stand-by. In other words, they need to respond to the senior anytime in the day. Without relaxing time, young people easily burn out and feel stressed out.

Nevertheless, the old complain that today’s young people are too vulnerable and not hard-working enough and talk about the harsh days in the past. They ignore the fact that every generation has its obstacles. There is too much mental burden on the mind of the young, resulting in depression and frustration. Under such cirsumstance, young people can not be efficient and own good well-being with the lack of a work-life balance.

Needless to say, most of the societies' rules contribute to stability. But in my opinion, many of those sacrifices young people’s happiness to benefit the old, such as the parents and the employers. As the future of the world, the young should not be treated so rigorously. Otherwise, the world will be a tragedy.