Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Sometimes people think nowadays the media (TV, newspaper, Internet) are less concerned about the accuracy of news than in the past, and the incorrect information may cause more problem to the public.

Throughout the different stages of our life, from childhood through adulthood, we are exposed to many different information from a great variety of resources, such as newspapers, internet, television, and so on. Although some people hold this idea that nowadays the media are less concerned about accuracy of news than in past, others disagree. In fact, it is a controversial issue, however, I firmly believe that the media cannot easily convey inaccurate material these days because of two important reasons.

The first point which should be taken into consideration is that nowadays people have access to wealth of information from several resources. If one media lies, people will soon find out and they will soon tell each other that that particular media doesn't offer accurate materials. As a result people will not refer to that media again. For example, in my community, Shiraz, we had a local newspaper, named Tabnak. This newspaper was highly biased. When the new mayor in our city was chosen, the editor of that newspaper always used to publish unfair criticizing material in the newspaper. However the mayor was a really nice man, and he did a lot to develop the city. He built new roads and repaired old ones. He established new parks where people could go hiking and biking. Other resources like internet sites reflected these facts. Soon people were not willing to buy Tabnak newspaper anymore because they found out that it always publishes inaccurate things that are not correct. Eventually that newspaper folded. Seldom could people in past have access to such a great number of resources.

The second point is that, nowadays inaccurate information has less harmful effect on public because people are wiser now. They wouldn't trust any news at first, and many of them investigate whether the news is correct or wrong. They use other resources to find it out, like internet forums that people can visit and ask questions about almost anything. They can get online help. For example, last year there was an advertisement in TV about a new shampoo with magical effects. It said that it will protect the hairs and it will make the broken hairs strong again. I wanted to buy one of those, but first I went to a healthcare site belonged to our local medical university. I asked whether these claims about the shampoo are right. Soon after, an expert told me that they are not accurate and the product cannot bring any magical result. Consequently I didn't buy that particular product. Had I not had an opportunity to ask that question, I wouldn't have been able to evaluate the accuracy of that claim. Rarely had people in the past had access to such methods to evaluate claims easily.

As it is shown above, these days it's significantly more difficult for any particular media to convey inaccurate information. Not only have people access to a great amount of information in variety of resources, but also they are wiser and they investigate the claims made by media first.