Do you agree or disagree with the following statement: Successful leaders should make others part of the decision-making process.

It is universally acknowledged that an effective leader is supposed to make his team members feel they are important for the decision making process, as it can not only encourage them to buckle down, but also respect their leader more sincerely. I am a big believer of this argument and I do think the benefits from this feeling can elevate the quality of the team’s assignments.

Admittedly, the leader is the one who has relatively more experiences to be successful so they always make all of the decision. For example, they always determine whether their result of discussions could be applied or which is the right track suiting this team well to get on. However, if properly making team members realize themselves crucial for the decision making, leaders can relieve his burden and develop the teamwork easily.

For starts, sharing the responsibility is an efficient way to develop the quality of team works. Chances are high that a leader may have assumed so many workloads that he is facing a great deal of pressures, as he the only one to make the decision. Chances are also high that some young team members may have more creative opinions than their conventional leader. In this situation, the leader need to do is to let his team members do share the responsibility of the decision making. After feeling they are of vital necessity, members will make every effort to develop the quality of assignments. Sometimes it is the case that the earlier they have such feeling of value, the more opportunities the team has to have access to the success. Therefore, it is common to see some team members regard the collective success as their own benefits worthwhile to buckle down.

In addition, making team members feel part of decision making attracts more elites. This can be reflected by research conducted by Chinese Academy of Sciences (CAS) suggesting that a large proportion of (about two thirds) participants, mainly elites with ages ranging from 22-35, have shown strong eagerness of decision making because they assume this process gives them more opportunities to promote and increase their salaries. That is, according to researchers, companies are highly likely to attract more elites by means of increasing their components to make decisions. The experience of Apple Corporation can be a compelling case of this point. Before designing and releasing new products, Steve Jobs always held a meeting, selecting 100 of the most excellent employees to attend, to have a brainstorm and choose 10 schemes. Finally, Jobs would adopt 3 of these schemes. It is this feeling of participating that attracts an increasing number of elites looking forward to enter Apple Corporation significantly.

In conclusion, though leaders may have more experiences compared to team members, they should share the responsibilities of decision making because it is an efficient way to develop the quality of team works and attract more elites.