Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Successful people try new things and take risks rather than only doing what they know how to do well. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The relationship between successful people and risk has never come into the light and there is actually no dedicated research on it. Some believe that taking risk is a juvenile thing to do and it potentially destroys what one has built over the lifespan. However, I Strongly believe that taking risk is a characteristic of successful people and I will explain my reasons in the following essay.

The most significant reason could be that risks widen your perspective toward yourself and your abilities. It is necessary to take risks once in a while and evaluate yourself out of your comfort zone. This is what makes a difference between a successful and an ordinary person. Successful people often have a thorough viewpoint of themselves, which is most of the time acquired by taking risks. This way they will have a better understanding of their abilities as well as their limits. The risks often start with baby steps and after they have the feedback they could better decide to go a further step or to cease the action. A perfect example of such a movement would be my friend, Sarah. Sarah used to work as an accountant and I have to admit that she was a good one. One day she decided to take some cooking classes up alongside her career. After a while she felt that she would perform better in cooking than in accounting therefore, she took the risk. She quit her job and started her new job in a confectionary. Now she has her own shop with over than ten employees and is expanding her business.

Secondly, I think that staying in the same place and not changing your direction would eventually lead to failure. I have seen a lot of start-up companies, starting with a lot of energy and new ideas. But the moment they reach to a relief point they stop taking risks anymore as they are afraid of losing money or their reputation over some bad products. I remember when the CEO of BAZIK, a company producing home gadgets in my country, announced that they would not enter the new market of Internet of things (IoT), just when IoT was going to be hyped. I could understand that he was afraid that, by entering the new market he would lose the costumers. However, the opposite happened. Costumers loved the idea of IoT and eventually when the company decided to use the technology it was too late. Even their loyal costumers were using their competitors' gadgets.

Long story short, I believe that taking risk is a mandatory characteristic of any successful person. It makes them aware of their potential and helps them find new avenues to the final success.