Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Teachers should be paid at least as much as doctors, lawyers or business leaders.

Salary is a good criterion of a job about its criteria and contribution to the society. If a job is quite demanding and boosts the development of the society, the wage can be very high. When it comes to teachers, some people argues that they don’t deserve a high salary as high as doctors, lawyers or business leaders. However, I believe that they should pay the same, if not more, as those job listed before due to its high requirements and huge contribution.

First, a good teacher should adapt their teaching methods accordingly and update their knowledge constantly. Many people believe that the reason why doctors, lawyers, and business leaders are that they cannot apply the same principle to every patients, lawsuit or business cases. They should continue learning and analyze every case specifically, which requires them to have strong professionalism and adaptivity. The same rule applies to teachers. They have to keep learning to know the cutting-edge knowledge and the new application of the techniques or theories in order to give more practical classes. They also deal with every unique student, who from different families, having different personalities, specializing in the different area. For example, the teacher might be more encouraging to introverted students and they pay much attention to form students ability to be prudent and careful when having interactions with creative and extroverted students. Teachers should be very familiar with every student and adapt their ways to every student, which can be quite demanding and difficult.

Second, a good teacher enlarges students knowledge base and teach them important lessons. Teachers are those who foster future doctors, lawyers, and business leader. Since they can earn so much money, teachers, who give them the basic knowledge and the learning methods, should be paid the same as well. Take business leader as an example. Teachers not only guide students to the beginning of their career path, teaching them accounting principles or marketing strategies but also share analysis methods and foster students’ business sense so that people can make progress even without the help of teachers. Moreover, students can learn very important lessons from teachers. For example, teachers will correct us when we cheat in the exam so that we won’t use too many additives to cheat the customers. They also tell us the importance of helping others, leading to the willingness of being a doctor to save people’s life. Teachers inform us to be a good people, contributing to the society and not involving in the immoral behaviors or even the crimes. Therefore, teachers make many contributions and they deserve higher salaries.

In a word, the teachers’ salary should reach the same level as doctors, lawyers, and business leaders.