Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Universities should give the same amount of money to their students’ sports activities as they give to their university libraries. Use specific reasons and examples to support your opinion.

Nowadays, with the ubiquitous access to the Internet, the significance of the libraries has been fading. Indeed, on the Internet people can find all information they need barely in seconds right from the place they are at the moment. Conversely, in the modern dynamic world, the importance of participating in sports activities for people has been increasing. Therefore, I agree with the statement that educational institutions have to finance sports activities for their students not less than their libraries.

First of all, a sport is the great stress reliever. When people work physically, they let their brains get some rest and relax, which is crucial for the students, who learn continuously. Moreover, a variety of the sports activities is quite interesting and truly enjoyable for the participants. For example, when I was a student, I was in a college volleyball team. During the volleyball practicing, I was having a lot of fun with my teammates because we were joking around all the time, which made me forget for a while of all the college assignments and exams. If the college had not supported sports activities for the students, I could have simply drained in the stressful educational routine and felt constantly overwhelmed. Despite the opinion that while attending a college, students have to spend most of the time on learning, they still need some time off to keep up their studies. To that end, because of fo the great contribution of the sport to the student`s wellbeing, universities have to sponsor the activities.

Secondly, group sports activities help students to develop communication skills. These days, most of the business settings based on the teamwork. Therefore, having a capability of socializing quickly is indispensable in order to succeed in the workplace. Being a member of a sports team can teach young people to deal with others. For instance, as a member of the volleyball team, I learned about people`s behavior and how to adapt to different ones. In fact, after graduation the pharmacy school, I have never had problems with communication with my colleagues and patients. On the other hand, when students spend all time with books in the library and lack of an opportunity to socialize with their peers, they tend to become introverted persons, unable to communicate effectively. Therefore, taking part in the sports activities can be critical for students in practicing of building their connection in the society.

To conclude, I think that universities definitely have to fund libraries and sports activities for their students in the same degree. This is because, the sport is a great stress relieving tool for the students, which makes them socially adept.