Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? "Universities should give the same amount of money to their students’ sports activities as they give to their university libraries. Use specific reasons and examples to support your opinion."

I disagree with the statement that universities should give same amount of money to students' sports activities as they give to the libraries. The amount of money allocated should depend on various factors depending on the current need of the department .

Once I asked a friend a simple question that he could not answer . I asked him “ Do you like mangoes or chicken ?” The above question also takes us into a similar dilemma when comparing two unrelated departments. The Universities have two departments Sports and libraries, both are important for the holistic development of the students. Any student should have access to a library that is well stocked and provides access to diverse material. Similarly sports activities are important and college students should be able to access facilities for several sporting events .

Universities can review the condition of the sports activities on campus. They can do a head count of the number of students playing different sports. Coaches and student bodies can be consulted about the issues they are facing. Accordingly the funds can be allocated for students sports activities.Similarly after careful review money can be allocated for the library improvement and expansion. If it is found that students prefer to read books online like PDF format and are interested in online courses, then libraries could cut the budget for printed books.Investment in online educational platform membership Like Lynda.com for all the students can be more beneficial alternatively. There can be several strategies to wisely use the funds.

Some things can be bought by money but not all . I would conclude that instead of focusing on equal amount , Universities should look at other criteria for development of their sports department and Libraries . Thus giving same amount is not necessary.