Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? "Universities should give the same amount of money to their students’ sports activities as they give to their university libraries. Use specific reasons and examples to support your opinion."

In a students life sports and academics hold different places. They are both important for the holistic development of the student. I agree with the above idea that universities should spend equal amount in the students sports activities as they give to the libraries.

A well stocked library is always an asset for any student . Students spend a lot of their time in the library studying for exams and working on assignments. Thus Universities should maintain a library with diverse material .They are thus an integral part on the University .

We should not forget that sports play an equally important role in the students life. Lets consider the euphemism , A healthy mind resides in a healthy body. Students should try to maintain good health while in an academic course. Physical fitness complements mental agility. Playing sports is one of the best ways to stay fit. Students should participate in different types of sports like badminton , tennis , swimming , cricket . All physical activity is useful . But they should remember not to strain themselves.

Next, we know that team sports help build character. Playing in a team we learn to co-operate and think more in terms of team success than individual success . These invaluable lessons learnt on the field can go a long way in the journey of life . They

cannot be acquired from library books or classroom teaching but through active participation. For example , being a cricket captain in university can be useful for leading a team in the future. Leadership skills can develop thus through sports.

We can also include sports as a great stress buster for students. In an academic life, students may gravitate towards alcohol or other drugs during stressful phase. Active participation in drugs is known to be a stress buster and can prevent above situations.

We should also remember that major league players are recruited from university teams. It can provide a platform for students who are interested to build a career in sports as well . They can represent country in international events and make the country proud.

There are several benefits of engaging in sports activities for students , some direct and some lateral.Libraries are, on the other hand , an indispensable part of a students life.Thus universities should spend on both libraries and student sport activities.