Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? When people solve problems as a group, they come up with better solutions that if they were to try to solve the problem individually. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Since childhood, we have always taught how important it is to be a part of the group. Being a part of the group have numerous advantages. Few such advantage is collective thinking to tackle the problems. As mentioned in the question, while solving a problem, some may choose to do it alone, while others choose to tackle it by taking others help. In my view, it is always beneficial to solve a problem collectively for two important reasons.

The main reason why I say this is because a group always tends to come up with a better solution. When to try to solve a problem you may think in a specific direction. However, when a larger audience is involved more solutions come up. Not necessarily all are good. But some of them definitely are different than yours and might really tackle the root cause of the problem. To elaborate, during my college I was part of this awesome team which used to make race cars. We called them Mini-Baja buggies. We used to design and manufacture the cars all by ourselves. As you may know, any big project requires proper planning and execution. Once it happened so that we faced a major problem during our manufacturing phase. We wanted to get the chasis ready from the external vendor but due to floods near the manufacturers area we couldn’t get it done. Though, the chasis team was responsible for getiing it manufactured we tackled the problem collectively and brainstormed the alternatives. Finally, we decided to manufacture it from different vendor whom one of my friend knew. As you can see, if the larger group didn’t get involved we would have never gotten the chasis ready in time.

Another reason is you can tackle the problem more cost effectively. When you work in a group you tend to make friends. And you never know when this friendship can come handy. One such example is when I was in college I was part of local Toastmasters club. I made several new friends during my time in the club. One of friend Bill was really a great speaker and good mentor. Moreover, his dad owned a manufacturing plant. Since, we had become a good friends me and my team, which I mentioned in the previous example, got some of our hardware parts manufactured from him. And it saved us a lot of money. Thus, even though Bill was not part of my team, I being his friend reallt helped us. And it was all because I was part of the group.

In all, I firmly believe that tackling a problem as a group is always beneficial. Not only will it yield in better solution but also it will let you make new friends. One should always look at solving a problem in a group.