Do you agree or disagree with the following statement: Work has a bigger impact on your overall

happiness than your social life.

We spend most of our waking hours at work, and because of that, it is necessary that it fulfils our needs. Although some may argue that your social life has a more significant influence, I strongly agree with the statement. My view is based on professional and financial grounds, and in the subsequent paragraphs, I will support my major reasons with examples.

First of all, choosing your career for life is not a simple decision, and one has to pick their path so it can provide all the intellectual stimulation crucial for their development. Even though some may believe that work is just eight hours of boredom, others think about it as your life journey which has to give them an opportunity to grow and improve, not just in a professional way but also to make them more valuable as human beings. If one's work is not satisfying enough, it can cause problems and make one unhappy and even depressed. Therefore, it is crucial to select a path which gives them all they need for personal development and meaningful life. My personal experience demonstrates this concept. I have always dreamed about becoming an astronomer, and after years of hard work and dedication, my dreams became true, and I cannot even begin to describe how much it changed my life, and on top of that, I cannot imagine doing anything else. Moreover, it brings me joy and a feeling of being needed. It is possible that if I had picked another career path, I would have had a different attitude towards this topic.

From a financial standpoint, it is important that your job is able to cover all essential needs and some more. Travelling, good food and a cosy home are some of the aspects which make your life splendid. According to research, people with a stable income are, on average happier and, more importantly, they are less impacted by mental health issues. Furthermore, if one has to worry about money, one does not enjoy life to the full extent, and thus, having a good job has huge relevance. For instance, my current salary opened more opportunities in my life, such as visiting foreign countries, experiencing new cuisines, and improving my self-care. Without all of the possibilities which are associated with a higher income, I think my life would be less rewarding.

In this essay, I discussed my personal beliefs that our work life is more influential than our social life. I feel this way not just because it fulfils your intellectual needs but also because a stable income is necessary for life without worries.