Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Always telling the truth is the most important consideration in any relationship between people.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

By and large, it is established beyond doubt that people are social animals; and they need relationship with others to live on. There is no shortage of debates among psychologist to define important elements of a good relationship. Meanwhile, there is a general tendency toward the notion that telling the truth is the most important consideration among people. I subscribe to this idea, and in what follows, I will delve into paramount reasons to substantiate my viewpoint.

The first compelling reason corroborating my stance is that telling the truth causes people to have strong relationship. It is axiomatic that if an individual tells the truth, other people will rely on his words and respect him. So that it creates a positive loop between people, which eventuate in a relationship that everyone trusts each other. In this kind of relationship, people can talk to each other, and if there is any problem, they can understand quickly and solve it. By way of illustration, we had a four-member friendship group at school. Once, one of us Sara lost an important notebook of mine and said denied what she had done. I trusted her and tried to find a solution to buy another one. However, later I found that she had left my notebook in the school yard. Since then we end our relationship because I cannot trust her anymore. Had she told the truth, I might have gotten angry at first, but we could have talked together and find a solution without hurting our friendship. This example manifests why telling the truth is the most important consideration in any relationship.

Furthermore, telling the truth will bring an internal tranquility, which lead to beneficial outcomes. It is crystal clear that people who lie, feel guilty and they get anxious. They are under pressure and stress because they fear what if their lie reveals. Thus, they unintentionally behave badly toward others, which prevent relationships to be a strong one. One point in case, when I was child, I used to lie to my parents. All the time, I was worried if my parents find out what I had done. So that I was stressed all the time and I had aggressive behavior toward them, which made my childhood miserable, and eventuated in bad relationship with my parents. Had I told them the truth, I would not have had any stress and would have had a proper behavior. This example reveals that how telling the truth can cause people behave more properly, and thus, have better relationships.

By perusing paragraphs above, one can infer that why building a trustful relationship is crucial. For the sake of brevity, a couple of words are worth reiterating. First, telling the truth will lead to a strong relationship. Second, it will cause proper behavior toward others. As for this writer’s advice, I vehemently urge people to tell the truth under any condition, even if they fear of other’s reaction.