Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

At universities and colleges, sports and social activities are just as important as classes and libraries and should receive equal financial support.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Attending university is an integral stage of everybody's life. However, its main purpose differs significantly from one society to another. Some countries view the purpose of education as a way of giving students a firm academic background, while others regard the primary purpose of education as giving students the chance to develop their social behavior and emotional characteristic along with academic education. In my view, extra curriculum activities in universities should get funded equally as classes and libraries. In what follows, I would explain my perspective.

First, it is clear that the main purpose of education is to prepare students for their future life. It is true that learning science and math would benefit students substantially. For instance, they can find a good job or discover a new thing in their field of study, which is very rewarding. However, academic knowledge is not enough to will be successful in life. Researches found that students who develop social behavior and physical health along with education are more successful in their life. In comparison, other students who their universities only provide education rarely can lead to a good life. Suppose, a graduate student, who during the education time only had concentrated on academic knowledge, wants to get a job. While he has a proper academic background, he does not have a professional network to help him find a job. When he is invited for the interview, he can answer technical questions properly while he can not make a good eye contact with the interviewee, which makes a bad impression.

Second, it has been proven that studying without fun would have poor results. If students only study without a refreshing break, he would get bored soon. According to a famous study, if students get a break every one hour and a half their productivity would improve substantially. So if universities take social activities and sports as important as classes and libraries, students can do many fun activities during their break, which would result in higher performance.