Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

At universities and colleges, sports and social activities are just as important as classes and libraries and should receive equal financial support.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

By and large, it is established beyond doubt that education play a significant role in everybody’s life. There has been no shortage of debates among universities that whether it is beneficial to take social activities and sports facilities as important as classes and libraries or not. Meanwhile, there is a tendency toward the notion that students attend to universities to study and if university allocate equal budget to other non-academic activities, the quality of classes will decrease, which is not beneficial for students. As for this writer’s opinion, I will subscribe for the former idea. In what follows, I would delve into paramount reasons to substantiate my viewpoint.

The first compelling reason corroborating my stance on this subject is that one of the most prominent purposes of education is to prepare students for their future lives. It is crystal clear that if an individual learns essential skills and knowledge in the young age at school, he will know how to overcome future problematic situations in the real life. Moreover, he can use his learnings to find a good job, run a loving family and contribute positively to his society. While It is true that learning science and math would benefit students substantially, it is not enough; and there are other skills which is necessary. By way of illustration, after graduation, I was seeking for a decent job in my field of study, but I could not find any. “you cannot find a job because you cannot make a good eye contact with others and also your way of speaking is no persuasive enough” one of my interviewees said. Had my university devoted more budget and attention to social activities along with academic education for students, I would have learned more social skills and would have had a multi-dimensional personality. Thus, I could have found job more quickly. This example manifests why universities should take extra curriculum activities as important as libraries and classes.

Furthermore, it has been proven that studying without fun would have poor result. It is axiomatic that If a student only study without any refreshing break, he will get bored soon. When people are bored, they do not have enough motivation to move on toward their goals. Hens, if the university do not allocate sufficient budget to extra-curricular activities, they cannot offer high-quality programs to the students. Vividly, poor quality programs would not attract students to participate, and as a result, they have to study all the time, which is boring. As a case in point, when I was 18, my university used to pay attention to libraries and providing high-end equipment for classes. However, a large number of students had poor results. After two years, the new dean of the university, which had a completely different viewpoint form the former one, decided to allocate more budget to the gym and other extra-curricular activities. After that students were willing to participate in those high-quality programs, which led them to be more energetic during the semester. As a result, the average scores of students increased conspicuously. This example reveals the importance of paying attention and enough budget to social activities at universities.

By perusing paragraphs above, one can infer that it is highly crucial for universities to take social activities as seriously as academic subjects. For the sake of brevity, a couple of points worth reiterating. First, students should learn and practice social behavior skills at university to become ready for their future lives. Second, they should have fun along with their studies in order to stay motivated and productive. As for this writer advice, I vehemently urge that universities devote enough time, money and consideration for extra-curriculum programs; in order to grow mature and successful individuals for the society.