Do you agree or disagree with the following statement:

In 20 years there will be fewer cars in use than there are today.

Humble car produced for faster transportation by Henry Ford has today become of the major form of transportation. In 20 years , the technology used to make cars is going to get better and number of cars should increase .

Government has spent huge amount to develop roads and highway transit systems. Cars have an excellent infrastructure in place.They are used as a major transport vehicle. It provides a medium to travel from one place to another and is useful for small family and single people . With the growing population and good infrastructure it's number is sure to increase .

People prefer to travel by their own car as it gives them the comfort of travelling without waiting for buses. Public transport is not dependable , for example when travelling late at night . Thus people always prefer to take their car . They even rent cars when travelling to another cities, simply for this ease of movement . In some places public transport may also not be reliable or frequent enough during business hours. Like remote places and smaller cities. It is not viable for the government to maintain public transport systems in such places . This is genuine difference between public transport and having a personal vehicle . It is unlikely to change in the future thus cars will always be in demand .

The income of people in developing nations is increasing ,with higher GDP for countries and increasing per capita income. In the next 20 years if this trend continues , people will get richer and start investing in comfortable traveling options like a personal car .

Within the next 20 years cars may also evolve to run on solar power. Thus cars will be more in demand due to technological improvements. Currently the government is trying to encourage people to use public transport and car pooling to reduce pollution and other ill effects of car emission. It is possible that in the future we use clean emission cars due to the aforementioned grounds. Research on Self driving cars is also being undertaken by several companies. If that becomes a reality the number of cars will increase as well . Today the old people and differently-abled people may not be able to drive cars. A self driving will be beneficial for them as well.

Improvement in technology , better economies and the inherent ease and flexibility of travelling by car is definitely a pointer that the future of cars is quite safe.Their numbers will definitely not decrease if not increase.