Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

In order to become financially responsible adults, children should learn to manage their own money at a young age.

There is a Persian proverb which states, “The future of the society is in the hands of today’s children.” Hence, proper upbringing of the children can be the panacea for all problems of a nation. Regarding financial aspects of life, some people insist that children should not be involved in financial issues since it distracts them from other facets of their lives like education. However, I believe that teaching the child to handle his or her money like an adult is beneficial to his or her future. My reasons for this claim are manifold, three conspicuous ones of which are elaborated upon hereunder.

First and foremost, nowadays it is impossible to live a decent life without adequate money. Thus, managing one’s income is of high importance among the skills one can acquire. Despite some people’s belief that this ability can be gained easily, actually, this skill requires years to develop. By involving the child in financial issues, like providing him with pocket money, he or she can gradually gain experience related to managing a fixed income.

In addition, by caring about the expenses of the life, the child learns to take responsibilities. In order to be prepared to run a family in the future, the kid should learn when to take risks that may affect other people’s lives, like investing his or her money in a business, and accept the consequences of his or her actions. The child cannot feel responsible if he or she is not dealing with his or her own money.

Last but not least, by spending his or her own money, the child will learn the value of money. Therefore, the child will understand his or her parents better. On the other hand, if the kid is accustomed to rely on his or her parents’ money, he or she will probably insist on buying expensive toys and devices that the parents cannot afford, which often culminates in brawls that hurt both the child and his or her parents.

In conclusion, with all this taken into account, I assert that getting involved in financial facets of life enhances the children’s lives on the grounds that it helps them manage their income in the future, teaches them to take responsibilities, and makes the family a friendlier place.