Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?In the past, young people depended too much on their parents to make decisions for them; today young people are better able to make decisions about their own lives.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

By the advent of Internet and emerging advanced communication devices, people are now more freestanding compared to the past. Although some people adamantly claim that the traditional dependence on parents is still existent in some countries, other people take an opposite point of view. Personally, I am of the opinion that most of the younger people are more independent from their parents. I feel this way for two reasons which I will explore in the following essay.

To begin with, younger people are more educated compared to their parents. In the past, people were dependent to their parents because of their experiences. By contemplating this in mind and considering the Internet as a provider of a huge amount of data, individuals, nowadays, can search about whatever they didn't know or have no idea about it. Certainly, it would be a better an easier solution, moreover, it would suggest more innovative and novel approaches compared to your ancestors’ way. For example, I can remember when I was selecting a university to pursue my passion, my parents had no idea since they had no experience of going to university. Thanks to the Internet, I could gain the required information by surfing on the web.

Second, in the current decades, living standards have increased tremendously. Now, people want more freedom in their lives. My nephew's experience is a compelling example of this. He is a fourteen years old teenager. He is studying in elementary school. I can remember when I was a youngster, my mother decided all of my clothes since she thought that I am immature to do this task. Compared to my situation, he is more free than me because he gives his opinions in different subjects instead of following his parents’ decisions such as their home's decoration or in place for vacation.

All in all, people are more free in making their decisions because they are more educated than the past, and have more access to technology like Internet. Besides, their standards for their lives have heightened.