Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

In twenty years there will be fewer cars in use than there are today.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The Cars are frequently discussed in public in many aspects. One of the most controversial topics is will the use of cars decrease in future. Some people may hold the view that there will be less cars in use than there are today due to the convenience of public transportations or infinite expenses for the owners. However, some others may take opposite viewpoints for reasons like the increasing of personal income would make cars more affordable and convenience of owning cars. From my vantage point, the former view seems to have rationale aspect in comparison to the latter viewpoint. I will elaborate on my idea through two noticeable reasons.

First of all, the traffic problems are unavoidable if everyone use their cars. The government in many countries realized this problem. Then they release policies and plans to develop bus and railway system which will make the publuic transportations more convenience. That is the reason why public transportations will gain more popularity in the future and people will take public transportations instead of cars. As we can see in developed countries people tend to travel by buses , trains or even airplanes. Some people might argue that there are few public transportations in countryside or rural area and it is not convenience to travel around. I agree with this point but in this case you don’t have to buy your own car. There are many options for example, you can rent car just for one or two days to travel around that would not be affect the number of car owners.

In addition, it costs more to own cars and the costs of owning cars are limitless. Once you buy the car, you have to spend big amount of money then pay the installment every month with high interest rate. That still not enough, you have to pay for gasoline, maintenance, insurances and taxes. It is said that in the future our world will face oil and gas deficiency problem, gasoline price will be higher, this problem affects directly to the car owners and costs a lot more. For example, the cheapest car in my country is $10000; you have to make a down payment for 25% of the price, which is $25000, and pay the remaining amount off in five years with 5% interest rate. For miscellaneous expenses is around $200 per month. After consideration all costs, the total cost of owning cars per month for 10 years is $350 minimum compared to public transportation, which is only $300 maximum per month. This strengthens the idea that people will use fewer cars in the future.

From the aforementioned above, there would be reduction of cars in used because of development of public transportation and increasing cost of owning cars that would affect. More people will use public transportation. Therefore, the number of cars in use will decrease.