Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is better to have a broad knowledge of many academic subjects than to specialize in one specific subject.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Nowadays, by progressing the technology, some people try to have broad knowledge in different subjects especially the academic subjects, while others have a negative attitude toward it. The world is changing every second and if we want to separate yourself from other people, we might have a better knowledge rather than the other. As far as I am concerned, I agree with above statement because of several reasons including having more incomes in life and having good status in the society.

Having more earning is the first reason of current discussion. In this regard, it should be noted that if we have skills to do different works, we will have more incomes. In other words, we need to have a broad knowledge of different academic subjects to attain different skills and thus more incomes. With this harsh economic situation, we need to get more money rather than before and it never happens with having knowledge of a specific academic subject. For instance, my friend is a civil engineer and have knowledge of math academic subject as well as engineering. So, he can get money by teaching math beside of his working for an engineering company. Therefore, one of the momentous reason of having a broad knowledge of many academic subjects is about having more incomes in life.

Another noteworthy of ongoing discussion is about having good status in social life. Research showed that well academic person is regarded more than a person who has no academic experience. So, if we have more academic experience, we would have a higher status in society. Imagine that you have a family gathering and all talk about different subjects. If you have no experience in that subjects, you will be disappointed about yourself, and vice versa. For instance, I can vividly remember that it was a hot afternoon in summer and we went to my uncle's house. There was a technical problem in his refrigerator and we all were thirsty. My brother was a soccer player but he had an academic knowledge of electronic and thus he could solve the problem. All family appreciated him and regarded him more than before. Thus, having good status in the society is another reason of having knowledge of many academic subjects.

From what has been discussed above, we may finally reach the conclusion that although it is hard to have a broad knowledge of many academic subjects but it is so helpful because it improves our incomes and elaborates our status in society.