Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is important to know about events happening around the world, even if it is unlikely that they will affect your daily life.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

We are living in a world where technology has connected us via the internet. We can claim to be global citizens.It is possible to travel the entire world in a matter of hours with the advancement in aviation technology. We can watch a sport being played in France live while sitting in our homes in Africa. Such is the power of technology which has brought us closer and made our lives easier. We thus should leverage the power of technology and be aware of events happening around the world even if they are unlikely to affect us .

Lets consider the following example . Living in India , I came across an article on a web magazine regarding melting of glaciers in the Arctic .it is a news of a far away continent and is unlikely to affect my daily life.Out of curiosity I read it . It turns out this is one of the side effects of global warning . The sea level across the world is affected with such melting and low lying areas were in danger of getting submerged. The article made me think about our activities that contribute to global warming . It is our duty to protecting the environment.We take our planet for granted when we should preserve the one home we have .

Another new regarding Ms.Sloane winning the US Open emerged. I had never even heard her name before. She was an unseeded player , following the news I was filled with praise for her dedication . Her achievement inspires millions of others. There was also an article regarding self driving cars and their potential merits and demerits.It fills me with wonder that we have reached a progress level where are working to develop machines to replace human drivers . Such events around the world helps expand our thinking horizon. Our perspective improves .We can decide to spend lives like the frog in a pond or leap into the great mysteries of the ocean.

Being the global citizen , we travel to other countries for leisure and work purposes. One such trip I had taken to Rome in Italy .It was a beautiful city but as I got out of the airport I could get no mode of transportation for going to the hotel. It seems there was a strike announced that day by local taxi unions to protest the start of UBER services . Thus I was stuck at the airport for the whole day . If I had read news about the city I may have picked another day or made alternative arrangements . It is thus difficult to predict which news is going to affect us before reading it and some times like above even after reading it .

Being well read also adds to your personality and can be used as an ice breaker to start conversations. General knowledge is usually tested in most MBA entrances . It is known that global events are bound to have reactions , if not direct then implicit . It is important to run any kind of business , especially when aiming for MNC's

In conclusion , It is always good to keep abreast latest developments from around the world in different fields like science , technology , politics . We can learn about different things and maybe contribute as well .