Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?It is important to know about events happening around the world, even if it is unlikely that they will affect your daily life.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In At the stupendous age in which we live, the mass media widely disseminates information. Therefore, people access information from all over the world in a twinkling of an eye. Some people believe that it is beneficial for us to always know what is happening in the other side of the world even if it seems irrelevant to us. Others contend that it is a wolf in sheep’s dress. Ostensibly, it may not exert pernicious influences over our lives; however, scrutinizing the situation thoroughly reveals that it leads to loss of time, energy and concentration.

The majority of people spend a copious amount of time watching television so as to get some useless information. After being mesmerized by TV, they don't comprehend the passage of time. However, instead of vegetating in front of TV, they can devote time to reading books, which is useful for their jobs or they can participate in sports. According to cutting-edge research conducted in Asian countries, on average, people spend 5 hours a day to watching TV or reading newspapers. However, they devote only 30 minutes a day to take part in sports. Hence, it is no exaggeration to say that people kill their time.

Spending so much time at the irrelevant issues causes stress and lack of concentration. Some students instead of dedicating themselves to their schools’ assignments, all day along catch up on up-to-date news. Nevertheless, in order to be immersed in studying, they should eschew wasting energy on them. The crux of the problem is that they always engrossed in these issues so much so that they can't concentrate while they are studying. They began to think about the news which they have read recently. Consequently, not only do they feel overwhelmed and frustrated, but also they are not able to learn the course material.

By taking all this into consideration, I opine that people would not waste their time to acquire knowledge about the events which is irrelevant to them. Instead, they can read book or participate in sports.