Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is more important to keep your old friends than it is to make new friends. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

It is clear everyone needs to have some close friends. With friends we can have fun and good time and learn a lot of things. Some people believe that it is better to keep old friends, others, on the other hand, disagree and believe that it is better to make new friends. I certainly believe that it is better to find new friends for some specific reasons.

The most important reason is that people occasionally leave their city life and move to new places. It is obvious, because of communicative devices like cellphones and Internets we can be in touch with old friends but everybody needs to spend time with somebodies. An example come to my mind is for studying biochemistry, I went to Shiraz, a big city about 500 kilometers from my hometown, Tehran. At the first, I just was talking with my old high school friends by cellphone. After few months, I felt depression. During consulting time with a university psychologist, she advised me talking with phones and cellphones are not enough and told me make new friends and spend more leisure time with them. After spending time with my new friends from classrooms, university campus and clubs, I certainly, felt better. This experience taught me we definitely need new friends in our life.

Another important reason is that, we change a lot during our life, from single to married, from uneducated to distinguished scientist, from lazy to professional athlete. By changing our situation we could not be with old friends in old situations. One of my best friend was very close to me when she was unmarried woman. We went to clubs, movie theaters, and even vacations with each other. After great marriage, she began to meet me less and less and spend more and more with her husband and new couple friends like herself. After giving the second birth, now we just see one or two times at the year. Once I complained about her new strange behavior, she told me as married mother, she needs to be with persons who have same situation and issues to teach and help each other. In addition she have not enough time for her old single friends. As you can see, her new situation, in fact, forced her to find new friends instead of being with old best friends.

In sum, though some may support to keep old friends for a long time, in my view it is better to make new friends. It is not only important because of changing of city life but changing situation in life.