Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is more important for students to understand ideas and concepts than it is for them to learn facts.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

When it comes to the issue of studying and the importance of understanding ideas and concepts rather than learn facts, some people might agree with this statement and give us sound reasons for their belief. On the other hand, some other people might disagree with this idea and have different opinion.Those opponent could probably provide us with strong purposes for their thoghts. In my opinion, it is more important for students to understand ideas and concepts than it is for them to learn facts because there are so many reasons supporting my point of view. This short essay will demonstrate some point regarding this issue in the following paragraph.

First of all, it is widely understood that the first step of learning is having a basic concept or idea. Understanding a specific lecture about certain topic starts with the general idea, the scientific structure and the purpose behind it. When students understand the idea , they can observe specific facts and examples to support the main concept of the lecture. For example, when I attend dental school in 2005 ,The doctors used to start topics by explaining the main rules because teaching technique in my school depends on learning concepts. The first rule that I learned is the correct depth along with the width of class one for cavity preperation. Students begin to study fact and practice on different patients after they fully understand the main Idea.

Another reason why i advocate the attitude of the importance of understanding concepts is that knowing concepts are more efficient and less forgetable. Facts could change but criteria will stay the same forever. Although with the development, rules could be improved and looks slightly not the same, core of idea will be always unchanged. When students understand the structure and know from where it comes exactly, they will keep what they learned and pass it to others. Moreover, it will be much easier for students to recall thoughts when they memorise basic idea. For instance, I still know how to solve complicated mathmetic's questions because the math teacher in my secondary school taught me many rules and concepts , she starts teaching me the criteria and giving me simple questions then she used to give me harder questions the next day.

Different scientific studies have been done in many universities in United Stated indicate that students were more knowlegable and smart when schooles depend on ideas and concept in their education.

From what have been discussed above we may finaly draw a conclusion that says, people who hold the opposed idea may have the right to believe in it but my opinion and other people's opinion it overwhelmingly too much to be ignored