Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Leadership comes naturally: one cannot learn to be a leader.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

There is no shortage of debate about the fact that the ability to manage a group of people is essential for any collective undertaking to be successful. Without proper coordination or objectives issued from a certain individual, many team works or group activities might yield nothing but chaos. In my view, although like many other innate talents leadership skills come naturally, they can indeed be learned and developed in a person from an early age. I feel this way for two main reasons which I will explore in the following essay.

To begin with, a great deal of information from the accounts of writers about distinguished leaders and their own autobiographies unearth the fact that they have been taught crucial lessons by their mentors, instructors, parents or some significant events during the course of their lives. For instance, by reading the brilliant history book" history of civilizations" written by the renowned author willam durant I was informed a lot about the Napoleon Bonaparte, the emperor of France from 1805-1812. In addition to being a military genius, whose victories in the battlefield are still discussed in military academies, he was an awesome leader. Through sheer determination and intelligence he seized power in turbulent period of history of France and united his people. According to Napoleon himself there were many occasions that altered his life which assisted him to transform into a famous figure. His mother as he notes, was especially influential on him, giving him confidence and a capability to give commands effectively. Besides, the time he spent in the artiliary training school learned many things on how to lead his men in a battle.

Secondly, the deciding factors which determine whether one is able to lead others are quite known to scientists. To be more specific, it is agreed upon that self-esteem having adequate communications skills, being firm in face of problems and making timely dicisions are among qualities necessary for an effective control of subordinates. My father's experience is a good example of this. Being tasked to be in charge of a team of writers to cover an election campaign in his newspaper, he had to cooperate with a number of different colleages. At first, since he was not feeling completely that he deserved this post, things were not going well for the team. Seeing this opportunity, members tried to distrupt the work whenever possible. As a result of this, after evaluating the situation my father decided to be firm and stand strong on his ideas. The resut was fantastic, everyone fell in line while making that special coverage the best for many years to come.

In sum, I hold the view that leadership is possible to be understood and learned. Not only are numerous prominent leaders' lives indicate this, but also features of a capable leader are well known and possibe to promote in a person.