Do you agree or disagree with the following statements? people who cannot accept the criticism from others will not be successful in working in a group.

There is some disagreement over whether accepting the criticism from others is a necessary condition for being successful in a group. Of course, few would say that this condition is not a requirement to succeed at working places. From my view, however, ignoring the valuable feedback from others, even they are not positive, can be problematic to people who want to become a successful person in a society because of the benefit in finding and solve our problems and the importance of our social skills.

To begin, it is undeniable that criticism from others can be an effective way to figure out and improve our problems because people cannot easily recognize their own problems themselves. When it comes to a leader in a group who tends to ignore the group members’ views that are negative against the leader’s opinion, the leader cannot his or her own problems or the group’s problems to prevent to make a profit. Without having an attention about the criticism from the members, the leader cannot be successful. For instance, Steve Jobs, a leader of Apple, if he did not confirm others’ opinions about his decisions, he could not figure out his own problems to have an negative influence on the management of the company but also the company could not become a successful company. This implies that an inclination to admit criticism from others is crucial to people who want to become a vital member of a group.

Furthermore, the limitation of contradicting of disagreements of others can be found in terms of having advanced social skills, which is advantageous to succeed in a society. Regard to the modern society where there is no task can be done by a single person, the social abilities are necessary qualifications for any successful person. In this regard, when people are able to accept disagreements from others with their ideas in a group, it will allow them to enhance their social abilities which can be helpful in building a more promising future. According to a study conducted by researchers of a team at Harvard University, responses of the employees in a large company revealed that the employees who tended to accept disagreements of others had higher scores from their coworkers than others who tended to ignore them. Furthermore, the employees also made better outputs in their works. This shows that in order to succeed in a group or society, people have to recognize the importance of disagreements of others.

To sum, despite of the merit of having positive mind when people have criticism from others, both the vital role of criticism in finding and improving personal problems and the fact that social skills are necessary qualifications for any successful person in modern society tell us that it is advantageous that people are able to confirm criticism from others about them to being successful.