Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?
Schools (universities, colleges, and high schools) should teach students about specific careers and jobs instead of general subjects.
Schools play a major role in daily life of every member of a society, starts from one's
childhood to adulthood , for it is the place where knowledge is found and gained. Without a
shadow of a doubt, schools, particularly universities, colleges, and high schools are the
places where people develop their skills throughout different courses they learn. Although
there is a consensus on the very essence of schools and their profound effects on different
aspects of life, there is a controversy amongst different people about whether schools should
teach students about specific careers and jobs instead of general subjects.
To begin with, it should be mentioned that as a general rule of thumb, one who wishes to
reach something valuable must spend one of his or her precious prosperity, instead. In this
manner, if a person wants to be taught either about specific careers or general subjects, he
must devote his invaluable treasure, time. Regarding this fact, since each person wants to
take advantage of his limited time as much as possible, it is crystal clear that the priority
of learning about specific careers will heighten much more than general subjects.
Consequently, based on this intrinsic intention, schools will be requested to spend more time
teaching about specific jobs rather than general subjects.
A second point is that if schools offer carrier education, learning about unnecessary
material can be avoided. This will help students and learners to focus accurately on their
education. Plus, educating students about careers not only will afford them a golden
opportunity to increase their chance applying for a job, but also will pave the way for
thriving on their job responsibilities. After all, in the job environment, job skills are
much more appreciated than pure knowledge, for a person who has acquired career education
does better know how to adapt himself to the environment and his colleagues in comparison to
a person who is the champion of solving pure mathematics and physics problems on exam paper.
Finally, a person's ultimate goal is to work in order to earn money. Students are being taught
in order to use their skills and give service to the society they live in, in the future. In
addition, the more they become skillful in their job proficiency, the more they will be
promoted. In this occasion, schools can help student achieve this goal much more faster and
easier via teaching them careers and jobs education. However, there is one significant
exception about general subjects and it is related to those persons who want to work in an
academic environment. Again, as this portion of the students who needs to be taught about
general subjects constitutes minority of the whole community, this does not contradict
justifications proposed above.
In conclusion, I strongly assert that it is absolutely essential for schools to teach
students about specific careers and jobs rather than general subjects since, in my opinion,
the former is much more advantageous than the latter.