Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

The ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends easily.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The world has a changing style, friendship plays a crucial role in anybody's happiness in life, since they will be in need of comfort and support to encounter with this changes. With this in mind, a debate exists whether a long-time friendship is more important for people's joyfulness or to be able of making many new friends. As far as I am concerned, it is essential to have well-established friends, even if they are small in amount, because of several reasons, two of which are of great importance in comparison to others, which are elaborated upon hereunder.

To begin with, it is crystal clear that, when any individual has a friend for a long time, they will know the behaviors and "yes-or-no" of each other in an involved manner. For example, a long run friend is more welcomed to people's home as compared to a new friend, since people are more comfortable with their "BFF" than their new friend, preferences of whom they do not know as well as their old friend. Therefore, friends who are in their lives for more amount of time are more likely to make them happy. People have some instinctive behaviors which cannot be changed, a person who is a long run friend had made this clear that this behaviors does not bother neither sides of the friendship. Hence, any individual may seem happier when they are near they old friends. In contrast, every new relationship may have its debates about several things, such as their hobbies, their bad behaviors, and even the genre of the movie they want to watch together, to name but a few. Obviously, this kind of controversies can make anybody uncomfortable and unhappy in a long run.

Secondly, in today's world, people are more concerned about the problems of their own other than their friends or even families. Moreover, there are fewer people, who can establish a long time relation, in which the both side be happy and satisfied. Despite the fact that it is possible for people to make a new friend as lovable as old friends, it is rare to be so lucky that you find a friend, who are willing to be with each other, whether or not it is beneficial for them too. It is worth mentioning that a well-established friendship is the one, in which people are with each other through thin and thick of their lives, no matter what is the fruit of this relation for them. There is a saying, which equivalent in English may sound like, " See who stood by you in ups and downs." Additionally, with the passage of time, people will recognize their true friends, since they will have downs along their lives and they will see who was beside them during the bad times. On the other hand, it is more common in new friendships that a person will not put their friend's need above them, which is more prevalent in the long-timed friendships.

To sum up, by taking into account all aforementioned factors, we can depict that even a small number of close and long-time friends are more consequential for people as compared to having many new friends. I, personally, hope that people be able to maintain a friendship and not take their close friends for granted, as they will be supporting and comforting for each other.