Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

The best way to travel is in a group led by a tour guide.

After a long period of hard work, what can be more refreshing than an enjoyable trip with friends? To enjoy this trip fully, some traveling groups travel on their own while some prefer to be directed by a tour leader. I, personally, subscribe to the latter idea. My reasons for this claim are manifold, three conspicuous ones of which are elaborated upon hereunder.

First and foremost, an experienced tour leader knows amazing places that the group has to visit. In every city, there are places like local museums which not so many people are aware of. By having a tour leader, the team will know the city’s points of interest beforehand. Therefore, they can have a more precise itinerary and save the time that would otherwise have been wasted wandering around and asking for directions. On the other hand, by traveling without a guide, one may squander his time or even regret missing a must-see place.

In addition, having access to healthy food is an important concern in every trip. Since the travelers are usually not familiar with the quality of the destination’s restaurants, they are prone to have unhealthy meals leading to food poisoning. The situation is worse in foreign countries with different customs, where the group has no idea about the ingredients of the country’s traditional foods. However, if the team is led by a guide familiar with high-caliber restaurants in the city, the members will be assured about the quality of the meals they will have.

Last but not least, the leader can help the group to reduce the costs of their trip. The guide knows hotels affordable for the team and the best places to buy souvenir. Moreover, the guide often knows how to get a discount from the places the group visits, and therefore, he or she can minimize the money paid for the tickets.

To sum up, with all this taken into account, I assert that having the team directed by a tour leader is beneficial for the team on the grounds that the team will make the most of the destination’s attractive places, does not have to worry about the quality of the food, and is able to diminish the overall price of the trip.