Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

The extended family (grandparents, cousins, aunts, and uncles) is less important now than it was in the past.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

As time goes by, people get farther from each other. But does it imply that the family bonds are losing their significance? There are mixed views on this. I am of the opinion that the importance such relationships is fading away.

First of all, in times of high unemployment and scarce job vacancies, there is an ever-increasing competition among people to possess a job; There is no job opportunity for those without specialization and professionality to attain one of the jobs on offer. Only the most assiduous students can live up to employers' expectations. As a result, people, as they grow up, don't have enough time to spend on tasks other than their works such as getting involved in family relationships.

In addition to not having time, people also cease to maintain their relationships with their relatives inasmuch as they do not have much in common. The gap between generations is widening at an astounding pace, therefore, youngsters can not communicate efficiently with elderlies. Moreover, cousins of almost the same age can not relate to oneanother since they do not share interests and they have different fields of study, and thus, think differently. For example, my cousin and I are both 25; She has studied literature while I have studied physics. We see everything from different perspectives. She is really sentimental, and is also not interested in discussions. So, instead of spending my time with her, I would prefer to go out with my university friends.

Dispite the fact that many depriciate relationship with extended family, there are still people who really appreciate it. They are of the view that it's beneficial to keep in touch with extended family. They have weekly meetings where they get together, have a cup of coffee, and discuss various topics. It believe what they do can be good from different aspects. For instance, they can soothe their nerves and get refreshed. They can also benefit from giving their minds some hours of relaxation so that it can assimilate its weekly intake.

To sum up, even though there are families who appreciate the significance of extended family, once narrow gap among people and their extended family has been broadened because of compulsions of a busy life and lacking common ground.