Do you agree or disagree: People who spend more than an hour a day on social media are less happy than those who spend less time on social media.

Although some may believe that social networks bring just benefit to our life, I strongly agree with the statement. Spending a long time on social media does not improve one's happiness. My views are based on personal and social grounds, and in the subsequent paragraphs, I will support my major reasons with examples.

First of all, a day has just 24 hours and not a minute more, and because of that, it is necessary to plan and organize all important activities. Our time is limited, and we need to find a compromise between our work and social life, so we can fulfil our needs. Even though many times it is tempting to just sit in a comfortable chair and scroll through the newest posts, it actually does not relax us as we think it does. Furthermore, if we waste our time on our phones, we reduce the time we have for more meaningful activities, such as deep conversations with loved ones, exercising, and reading. My personal experience demonstrates the importance of using time wisely. Due to past trauma, I, unfortunately, developed depression at a young age, and it took me years to heal and to be happy. One of the things my beloved therapist recommended to me was to delete all social media I had installed. At first, I struggled because I used to spend an hour or two per day scrolling, but I managed to replace it with more productive activities. After some time, I noticed a significant improvement in my mood and a decrease in depressing feelings. It is possible that if I had not experienced this, I would have had a different attitude towards this topic.

From a social standpoint, social platforms are full of fake and unrealistic standards, which is impacting all of us in a negative way. According to the studies, people who spend hours on social media have, on average higher chance of developing depression and anxiety. Moreover, recently published statistics show that the young generation suffers more from food intake disorders, and that has a direct link with beauty standards presented online. For instance, my young cousin was a big fan of influencers showing their diets and lifestyle online, and because of that, she became obsessed with her appearance. It was not until she reached adulthood that she realized that what she was seeing was not real life.

In this essay, I discussed my beliefs that spending hours on social media is not the best choice. I feel this way not just because it reduces the time we can spend in more meaningful ways but also because it has a negative impact on mental health.