Do you agree or disagree that progress is always good?

Upon the question is progress always good, different people have different opinions based on their education, emotion, culture, etc. From my point of view, progress can bring countless problems. For example, although people can benefit from various types of technology such as computer, automobile and cellular phone, these new technologies cause many problems in our world. In the following paragraphs, I will try to explain my position more clearly.

First of all, these days, most big cities suffer from air pollution and greenhouse effect. Undoubtedly, automobiles and factories are the main sources of producing harmful gasses like carbon dioxide and methane. While the importance of automobile in transportation is undeniable, I think its disadvantages outweigh its benefits. Besides, automobiles cause numerous highway accidents and injuries all over the world.

In the second place, according to the latest researches which were published in well-known journals, cell phone has some detrimental effects on our health. Recent experiments have shown that people who use cell phones more than three hours a day, are more prone to cancer and brain tumors. Other types of technology like the Internet and television have had negative influences on our lives. These days, most teenagers and youth spend several hours a day watching television, surfing the web and so forth. In my opinion, they should use this amount of time for useful activities like exercising.

Finally, it is important to bear in mind that no one can deny the advantages of progress. For example, people can easily communicate with their friends through Skype, Instagram. In addition, they can travel to other continents in a few hours.

Taking all the aforementioned arguments into account, it can be concluded that progress is not always good because it has caused many problems in our world which I outlined above.