Do you agree or disagree with this statement? In order to be well-informed, a person must get information from many different news sources.

With recent advances in technology, accessing different categories of news – sports, cultural, and political to name but a handful, have become much easier than before. One can be informed about the latest events in the world from different sources with a few clicks of the mouse. However, still some people do not bother to read different sources of information and trust a single piece of news in a website or newspaper. I, personally, oppose this idea and believe that looking through different sources has several benefits, three of which are as follows:

First and foremost, when referring to a piece of information, its reliability should always be taken into account. In areas like politics and religion, where telling the truth can sometimes endanger the status of a dominating person or party, modification of the news is not an unusual act. False information in other categories can also be spread deliberately or by mistake. Getting information from different news agencies has the advantage of being endowed with the most reliable news and the power to question a single source’s validity.

In addition, global events should be watched from different perspectives. In a scenario where two countries are engaged in a war, each side will boast about its victories. Any voice opposing its strategies will be suppressed and any piece of news claiming its upcoming defeat will be censored. Reading different sources, one can know the situation of both sides and make a judgement based on neutral information.

Last but not least, while reading a piece of news from different sources, besides gaining information about the specific subject, one will improve his or her general knowledge to a great extent. The reason is that each page is full of details about related fields and links to other topics. For example, while reading a page about the discovery of a dinosaur fossil, the reader will gain a great deal of valuable information about different topics including the life of the dinosaurs, the evolution of the species in that era and the ice age that led to their extinction. The more sources he or she visits to read about the event, the more items this list will have and, therefore, the more knowledge he or she will earn.

To sum it up, although it requires more time to read different websites and newspapers, I assert that it is worth spending time on since it provides one with valid information, neutral point of view, and better general knowledge.