A foreign visitor has to spend only one day in your country. Where should that visitor go on that day? Why? Use specific reason and details to support your choice.

My country, Portugal, is a highly touristic country in southern Europe, that is has been receiving a lot of tourists all year around, particular in Lisbon (capital) and Oporto. This two cities have been receiving awards for best touristic city of Europe and placing on the top positions of the all countries around the world for tourism. This is due especially for Portugal perfect weather, sunny days, gastronomy and history (where you can find a lot of historic monuments). If I had chance to guide a visitor for only one day I would take him to Lisbon, in the following paragraphs I will justify why I would choose this city and where I would take him.

First of all, Lisbon has got a high sea area and therefore it is perfect to go to the beach or be near it. In fact, more than 50 different beaches are presented only in Lisbon, where its type of sea water, wave activity and type of sand differ form one to another. But if one thinks that the portuguese terrain is just beaches and plain fields he is completely wrong! There are a large amount of mountains with endemic species. In Lisbon you have the Serra de Sintra, that is a famous set of high montains, that have endemic species as well as a beautiful palace, called Palácio da pena. The gastronomy, as like the rest of Portugal, is one one the best in the world, and its price is relatively low. Some of the dishes are pretty famous, like bacalhão à brás, sardinha assada and cozido à portuguesa. It also has a lot of touristic attractions, you can find the torre de belém, Mosteiro dos Jerónimos, Castelo de São Jorge, padrão dos descobrimentos within an area of 5 km. These monuments are related with Portugal time of discoveries, where back in the fifteen century, Portugal and Spain ruled half of the know world each. Finally, to mention the portuguese people welcoming attitude, where everybody is helpful and ready to share. Portugal still has in its older generations the habit of helping the "other" or the "next one" as many years of dictatorship and poor conditions for the common portuguese pearson have forced to. People were simple and without greed.

For all of these reasons I would guide my visitor to Lisbon where he could find good affordable gastronomy, historic monuments, temperate beaches, montains and the love of the welcoming portuguese people.