In general people are living longer now. Discuss the causes of this phenomenon.

The notion that people are living longer today is a fascinating one and one that I believe in. I assert that several factors contribute to longer lives. Ubiquitous and advanced health-care facilities, technology, and efficient means of exercising and physical activities are remarkable contributing factors to longer lives. In the following paragraphs, I will aptly substantiate my viewpoint.

First exquisite point to be mentioned is that health-care facilities are widely available everywhere and for everyone. In the past people faced conspicuous difficulties when they were in need of immediate medical care, especially in rural areas. People had to commute a long and tiresome distance in order to reach a medical center. Today, however, there is a plethora of health-care facilities and hospitals available in almost every region, in most of the developed and developing countries. Thus, people do not need to travel a long distance, neither do they bear any difficulties to seek medical help. Furthermore, these facilities are equipped with the most advanced medical devices with which doctors are able to detect numerous diseases with ease and convenience.

Moreover, another important enabler of longer lives is the broad availability of technological devices and the Internet. There are lots of gadgets available that can measure your vitals such as blood-pressure and blood-sugar. They are small, easy to use, and cheap. Therefore, virtually any person with a decent source of income and minimum knowledge can afford to buy and use them. Furthermore, the Internet hosts thousands of websites with respect to health-care and medical knowledge. People who seek medical care, can first visit a few websites in order to acquire sufficient knowledge prior to visiting a doctor. Also, people can have a hands-on experience with healthy diets, and how to cook healthy food. A great number of websites afford cooking recipes with which people can retain their health.

Admittedly, not to mention the effects of modern means of exercising would be an oversight. Only by exercising correctly and efficiently, can people maintain their physical and mental health. Scientists have advanced enough to obtain appropriate methods of physical activities. Experts can assign exercising tasks to people with respect to their needs and physical problems. For example, an expert may give a neck exercise to a person with neck-ache, through which he or she can alleviate his or her problem. In addition, laboratories are producing beneficial exercising devises everyday which enable people to exercise more conveniently in their desired locale. For instance, you can buy a fixed bicycle and exercise for hours in your home without the inconvenience of going outside.

All in all, nowadays people are living longer than in the past. The advent of technological devices and the Internet plays a pivotal role in people’s improved health. In addition, widely available and advanced medical centers as well as professional methods of exercising enabled people to maintain their health for longer times.