Governments should spend more money in support of the arts than in support of athletics such as state sponsored Olympic teams Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

I could never forget the astonishment I got when I watched the 2008 Beijing Olympics Game on TV. Although I didn't enjoy the performance live, I still feel the charm of the Athletics. Taller, faster, Higher. The slogan inspired millions of audiences, including me, an 8-year-old girl. I was so proud of the worldwide athletes and was grateful for the organizer, which was my motherland. I knew it cost a lot of money later, but I maintain that the Game was worth it. From then on, I fell for athletics and practiced sports every week, such as badminton and table tennis. I am not talented at sports, so I don't become a professional athlete. However, I have become more healthy, confident, and persistent.

That is one of the reasons I advocate that a country should invest more money in support of athletics than art - it is an activity for all human beings with lifelong influence. The spirit of athletics benefits everyone, helping to build up good well-being. As a result, the citizens will be in a better situation which may lead to a higher happiness index and lower medical insurance costs.

It does not mean that arts are not necessary. But, art pieces can hardly make ordinary people and children so excited and obsessed. The ability to admire art has some thresholds, such as life experience and knowledge. By comparison, athletics is more intuitive and influential.

What is more, athletics is more costly and in need of revenue and apparatus, so it needs the government's support. An art lover can practice with pencils and paper, but a sports lover can not practice without a playground. Without the support of the nation, athletics has no way to develop.

In conclusion, I hold the belief that governments should invest more money in athletics than in the arts.