Groups or organizations are an important part of some people’s lives. Why are groups or organizations important to people? Use specific reasons and examples to explain your answer.

In business, education, sports, politics, and in many areas of social life, we see people come together in groups and then share ideas. Why are groups or organizations important to us? From my point of view, I would like to list three main reasons for it: to communicate, to share common interests or purposes, and to learn from others.

Firstly, people take part in groups or organization to communicate. According to Maslow’s Hierarchy of Needs, besides physiological, safety needs, people have natural desire for being belong to a group. The group can be a family, a group of friends or an organization. In the prehistoric time, human lived in groups for their safety and to protect themselves from external threatens like: wild predators, natural disasters…But in the modern society today, people still have enormous demand to be included in groups because they need the connection and interaction with human’s society. Without interacting with anyone, people feel extreme lonely, depressive and become introverted, even isolated. Groups and organizations give them special environments to talk, share, and have a fulfilled social life. For example, there are many groups for the single which connects people who are single, divorced, or widowed all around the world. By joining in the groups, people meet more new friends and can easier find happiness. That’s why for communicating is one of leading roles of groups.

Secondly, groups or organizations are where people share similar interests and purposes. Various kinds of interest can be listed, from music, sport, or making craft, to academic ones. In the groups, people organize many activities related to their interests or to meet particular purposes. For example, I take part in a group with other people who all care about Vietnamese culture. Every week, we spend at least three hours to study and present about cultural fields like: the origin of Vietnam’s ethnic communities, Hanoi’s cafe…And every a few months, we organize an event with traditional performances such as: Cheo, Xam, Chau Van…to spread the love of Vietnam’s culture to others. Being in groups or organizations with someone who share the same passion make you explore your interest and raise it bigger. Without groups, people still can develop their own interests, but nothing can be greater than having truly friends who share the same direction. It’s a second reason why groups or organizations are important to us.

In particular, groups give us value opportunities to build social skills and learn plenty of things from other members. For example, being a part of a group and join in its activities, we learn to how to cooperate with other members and be responsible for what we do. Or taking charge of an important role in your group, we train our abilities to inspire people, lead them, and face with high pressure. Addition, friends in group are new worlds for us to discover. From their experience, perspectives and knowledge, we can learn many value things. For example, you like piano, but never have the change to try it, then you realize your new friends in groups is a pianist. You can ask her to teach you play. Or you are a good writer, but have no idea about designing a poster. In contrast, you friend is a designer, but bad at expressing ideas in words. You both can collaborate to help each other better or may can publish your own newspapers. Groups are important because they bring us new friends and also new teachers in life.

To summarize, involving in groups and organizations benefit people in many aspects. Three of them are to communicate, to share common interests, and to learn more. Clearly, groups are indispensable part in our lives. However, we shouldn’t only expect to gain something from group, because its value comes from what we contribute to them.