High school teachers (teachers of students ages 14-18) spend most of class time lecturing (speaking) while the students listen and take notes. Other high school teachers spend most of class time on discussion and projects that students are highly involved in and exchange their ideas. Which of these two approaches do you think is more effective for student learning and why?

Lecturing has always been the most accustomed/common way of teaching, while discussion and projects on classes are also widely-used education method. From my personal point of view, the later one clearly has better effect, which can be supported by the following aspects.

To begin with, involving discussions and projects in courses can improve students’ grade. Applying this teaching form, Students are given opportunities to show their understanding about the knowledge. Therefore, teachers can be aware of every students’ mastery about the class content. On the basis of this, teachers can alter the courses arrangement to help solve the problems that the students have encountered in their study. Consequently, as difficulties and barriers are broke through, students’ grades will elevate a lot. However, giving lecture cannot make the teachers receive accurate feedback from the students, some problems can be overlooked and result in decreasing on students’ grades. In a math class, when teacher ask students to discuss about how to calculate the square of triangle, she may soon finds out that most of the students forget to divide the value by 2 at the end of the calculation. In this situation, she can include more calculation in the class as exercise. Therefore, during the exams, students will not lose scores on this point any more.

Besides, actively discussing issues with peers can help students to cope with different opinions and learn from classmates. We all know that everyone has their strength and weakness. When students are doing discussions and projects, they can learn about others merits and be motivated to appreciate, value and even embrace opinions. In this way, all of the students can improve themselves. Nevertheless, in the lecturing mode, every students just care about the teachers’ words and their own notes, nobody will think about learning from others. Consider about a geography class, when doing discussions about water flow in the ocean, Tom discovers from Mike’s opinion that his way of memorizing the location of continents and oceans is wonderful, so he quickly practices it himself. At another time, while finishing a projects about the South America’s jungles, Mike finds Jane’s method of connecting the climate in jungles to their vegetation condition can reveal a lot of valuable things, so he immediately apply this measurement to the agriculture of South America and receive a creative consequence. Hence, Mike and Tom both learn a lot of abilities from discussions and projects.

To summarize, discussion and projects on classes can improve students’ grades and promote themselves, which makes it an excellent choice for teachers.