How do movies or television influence people’s behavior?

Nowadays, most people would like to spend their free times doing various activities such as reading newspaper, joining a club and of course watching television. In my opinion, the latter has had the most significant influence on people’s behavior based on three main reasons which will be discussed in the following paragraphs.

The first and most important reason why I think television has changed our life dramatically is that it uses the most advanced tools to send a clear message to us. For example, they employ visual effects and other ways to convince people to purchase a specific product. In my country, the use of cosmetics has increased significantly in the past two decades. According to the latest researches, this phenomenon is due to extensive commercial programs in television. In addition, movies actors and stars use cosmetic products a lot in their shows or movies and it undoubtedly influence our women’s behavior.

As a second reason I would like to mention that the aggressive behavior in children and teenagers has also enhanced. Nowadays, youth are exposed to fictional movies that have aggressive characters and at the end of movie, these characters are rewarded rather than punished. Children usually want to imitate their manners and it has bad consequences on their mental and social skills. In addition, the rate of nose and other beauty surgeries is surprisingly high among teenagers in my country which is due to the fashion programs that are displayed in television every day.

Finally it is important to bear in mind that, the invention of television was definitely one of the most important achievement of human in the past century. Before invention of this magic box, the life was extremely boring but now people can watch comic movies with their families, laugh with them and enjoy their weekends. They can also get some valuable information about different issues like environment and how to preserve it by watching useful programs. Nowadays, people are more aware of environmental problems.

Taking all the aforementioned into account it can be concluded that, movies or television has changed people’s behavior both positively and negatively in ways which I outlined them above.